UAL week 8 – ‘Body Extension’

When I got back to class on Monday we were still doing the brief of ‘Body Extension’. I normally circle around the idea of lights and shadow when I think of instillations, I’d like to focus on this for FMP (Final major project) . After researching ‘Body Extension’ and sketching ideas I settled on an idea, which are normally developed in the making process. I knew I wanted to extend something to do with sight to connect to light ( I like the rhyme). So it made picking my materials easier, I needed something to hold the model to the head, so I reused noise reducers. I used video tape and slides as they easily let light pass through. So I only had to create the metal frame from medium wire for the frame and thin wire to hold it together along with the slides.

IMG_0067.JPGIMG_0082.JPG

We had to finish these models by Tuesday to be able to photograph them in the studio. I’ve not had much experience in a controlled setting for photography as mine is site based, so it was interesting to see the light set up and backgrounds.

IMG_0091.JPGIMG_0087.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

