NaBloMoPlo Day 22: White girl problems.

12413949

I just randomly picked up this book in a hope of a quick read, I normally HATE contemporary reads and as much as I wanted to hate this book I couldn’t.

It seems a lot of people on goodreads don’t agree, I think it’s a case of getting it or not getting it. Its a completely ridiculous ‘Memoir‘ of Babe Walker a fictional character. I don’t really know what they expected but they didn’t seem to appreciate the satire of it. Its a depiction of the over the top way the mega-rich spend their time and money. You know what I really didn’t think it was to far form the truth, I don’t know what over people expect but rich people live off Mummy and Daddy, the don’t technically have to do anything to live in luxury. What makes Babe so appealing to me is her being basically shunned  from the other mega rich when she was a child and probably through out. You only ever her of her having two friends and staff. Which has isolated her completely from any world that isn’t hers so she lives in her head doing the most clueless things.

Written by:‘Babe walker’

Published: 2012

Goodreads rating: 3.7 /5

Book series: Stand alone

Synopsis.

Babe Walker lives in L.A with her big shot Lawyer Father ( bit like clueless) and Mabinty her Jamaican Nanny/best friend. Its fair to say they have money, a lot of money. Things begin with Babes melt down trip to Barneys where she spent $246,893.50 landing her in Rehab for a shopping addiction. Now she’s decided to write her memoir, after writing a series of beautiful poems, the book is about all the ordeals and hurdles she’s had to go through in her 24 years of life.

Naming each as a chapter with a problem:

Problem #1: All I want for my birthday is for you to know what I want for my birthday without me having to tell you.
Problem #2: If I like him, he’s probably gay.
Problem #3: Who am I, and when did I gain a pound?
Problem #4: You’re my best friend, and I love you to death, but fuck you. Just kidding, I love you. Just kidding, I hate you. Call me.
Problem #5: My vagina is bullshit.
Problem #6: My major in college was picking my major, with a minor in being really bored.
Problem #7: I’m too pretty to be crying right now.

And so on, it  has #24 chapters in total. Now see what I mean about it being satire and how could people miss it.

Leave a Reply

