Plain janes ( graphic novel)

plain

This is the second graphic book that I have read that wasn’t a manga or comic and it didn’t disappoint.

Synopsis:
It’s based on Jane and the events that leave her moving to the suburbs. Where she feels trapped and banished from the big city. Deciding on a new style and out look on life she becomes reclusive and rejects every offer from the ‘popular’ girls to fine herself. With no friends and nowhere to go she soon falls in with the other Jane’s forming the ‘Plain Jane’s’. Inspired by a sketch book Main Jane inspires the other Jane’s to form an art movement, a secret art gang where the Jane’s create clever art pieces across the town calling it P.L.A.I.N. – People Loving Art In Neighborhoods.

Written by: Cecil Castellucci and artist Jim Rugg

Published: 2007

Goodreads rating: 3.67 /5

Book series: no.1 of 2

Rating 4.5/5

I don’t really know where to start with this, its everything I could want from a Graphic novel. The art style really suited the story and the pacing was also near perfect. I loved the story itself and felt I related to all the Jane’s in some way, the pieces of art they created were inspired. As an art student its something I could really understand and support, while thinking I wish i came up with that or I wish I could do something like that. Which is something I really appreciated, it was all about finding yourself and not being afraid to push boundaries while trying to make your community a better, more expressive place. Everyone had something to say about the art, even those that didn’t approve and thought it was vandalism, I like anything that evokes such opinions and debates. So I thoroughly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

